Rainy Day Play – Jello Play Doh

It is gross out today.  Like, soggy back yard, dog hiding in the closet from the thunder, wouldn’t catch me dead outside gross.  For proof, here’s my back yard:

 IMG_2194

So, I needed to find something to do with Monster, with what I had in my house, STAT.  A little Pinteresting, and I found the solution: Jello Play Doh!  I had a bunch of different colored Jello on hand (who doesn’t?), as well as all the other ingredients, since it’s just regular baking stuff, so I hit the kitchen!

To make your own Jello Play Doh, start by mixing

  • 1 (3 oz) packet of Jello – any flavor, any color
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup salt
  • 2 tbsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 cup warm water

I hate doing dishes, so I mixed it in the pot that I was going to cook it in.

IMG_2178

Everything but the water (I used lime Jello)

IMG_2179

Everything mixed up – it’s ok if there are a couple small lumps, they’ll go away when it’s cooked

Then just “cook” the play doh on medium heat.  It will only take a few minutes – the pictures below are a span of less than 2 minutes.

IMG_2182  IMG_2183  IMG_2184  IMG_2185

As you can see, it will start to get a little lumpy, then gooey and lumpy, and finally it will ball up like dough.

Once it forms a dough ball, pull it off the heat and set it on the counter to cool.  I don’t have any fancy silicone mats, and we don’t keep wax or parchment paper on hand, so I used aluminum foil, and it worked like a charm!  You can put it in the fridge to help it cool faster, too.

IMG_2186

I pulled the fork out a couple of minutes later, when it had cooled enough to not burn my hands

IMG_2187

The play doh did not turn pink! I actually made another batch with “berry fusion” Jello.

And that’s it!  The nice thing about using the Jello is that the play doh smells GREAT!  And you don’t have to mess with food coloring, which can dye your hands (and carpet and furniture and pets….).  It does not, however, taste great – both the kids tried it and did NOT approve haha!

 

IMG_2200  IMG_2196

Monster decided it was good enough for his dinosaur to eat, though.  After he was done making footprints in it…

IMG_2197  IMG_2190

Since I can’t part with Peach’s formula containers, they made the perfect place to store our special play doh for another day!

IMG_2192I hope your Saturday weather is nicer than ours!

Leave a Reply

