Tomato Chicken Alfredo

Those of you who know me know that I’m not the world’s best cook.  I feed my family, and it tastes ok, but I’m definitely not a gourmet chef.  However, every now and then I come up with my own concoction that turns out pretty well.  Today, I’m going to share my tomato chicken alfredo – a simple recipe that has become one of our family’s favorites!

Ingredients:

  • 4 raw chicken breasts (only 3 if they are large)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 (1 lb) package frozen peas
  • 1 jar sun dried tomato alfredo sauce (I use Classico brand)
  • 1 can diced tomatoes (any flavor you like)
  • 1 lb your choice of pasta, cooked

Makes 4 healthy portions.

Cook the peas most of the way by boiling.  While they are cooking, dice chicken into bite-sized pieces, and cook through in olive oil in a pan, covered.  Add jar of sauce, can of tomatoes, and peas, and cook on medium until bubbling.  Serve over pasta!

IMG_2306

It was so good, I forgot to take a picture until it was halfway gone!

I like this meal because it’s versatile.  You can swap the peas for broccoli if you prefer, change up the shape of pasta (I actually used elbows with vegetables cooked into it this time, which was really good, but in the past I’ve used penne), add onions or garlic… really anything goes.  I also cook the pasta in the same pot I cook the peas in – one less dish for me to wash before bed!  Monster loves it, it gets Radar to eat peas, and it’s an easy, healthy meal for me to make in about 20 minutes.  It also reheats very well!

I hope y’all enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

