Moon Sand

I had an ad in my inbox recently where Michael’s craft stores were trying to sell me Kinetic Sand.  I checked it out, and immediately thought – I can make this!  There are a lot of recipes online for moon sand, but all the ones I’ve found use water, and therefore dry out.  I created my own version, which uses baby oil instead so it shouldn’t ever dry out.

Moon sand ingredients:

  • 2 cups fine sand (Walmart’s sandbox sand works just fine)
  • 1 cup corn starch (again, go for off brand because it’s all the same!)
  • 1/2 cup baby oil

In a gallon Ziploc, shake up the sand and corn starch to mix evenly.  Pour in the baby oil, and combine until uniform consistency.  It will be crumbly, but hold together when packed.  The recipe also scales up well, so make a double or a triple batch if you feel like it (any larger probably won’t fit in the gallon Ziploc).

I love the smell of the baby oil, and how the moon sand leaves my hands nice and soft after we play (perhaps I should play with it every time I finish doing dishes!).  It’s similar to Play Doh, although a little more crumbly, but it doesn’t stick in the carpet if it’s spilled.

Cleanup

Monster dropped it on the carpet and managed to grind some in, but a quick sweep with the vacuum took care of the mess!

We brought some to a playdate at a friend’s house, and the kids had a blast playing with it in the back yard!

IMG_2345

Is that not the cutest little girl you’ve ever seen??

Monster especially loves when I pack a ball of it for him, and he squishes it and makes it fall apart.  What a fun sensory activity!

One thought on “Moon Sand

Leave a Reply

