Garlic Basil Mayonnaise and Meringue Cookies

I have to credit these recipes to my mom – she got me hooked on them!  One of my very favorite lunches is Boar’s Head roast beef and provolone cheese on a Publix hamburger bun (they’re super eggy and delicious) with garlic basil mayo slathered on it.  YUM!

When she started making the mayo, she didn’t know what to do with the egg whites.  She mentioned it to my Grandma one day (who is, I’m sure, the world’s greatest baker), who suggested that she make meringues with the whites – and voila, this pairing was born!  I guess they don’t really have to go together, but it’s nice to have a scrumptious sandwich with garlic basil mayo and finish your lunch with a light and airy meringue cookie.

Radar bought me a basil plant that we keep in our front walkway.  It’s the one plant I’ve managed not to kill!  I love having fresh basil when I want it, and I had my first “crop” ready to be harvested this weekend, so I immediately thought of my mom’s mayonnaise.

IMG_2436Garlic Basil Mayonnaise:

  • 2 large egg yolks at room temperature (NOT cold, or it won’t mix right)
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp Dijon mustard
  • rounded 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup light olive oil (if you use all extra virgin, the flavor is just too strong – take my word for it on this one)
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil

In a food processor, add egg yolks, lemon juice, mustard, salt and pepper.  Pulse to mix.  Drizzle in olive oil slowly (be patient… your arm will get tired, but just keep drizzling!) with the food processor on.  Once it has emulsified, add in the basil and garlic and whiz for about 30 more seconds (make sure the garlic is well chopped, you don’t want a hunk of it lurking in your mayo).  Refrigerate and use for up to a week.  Recipe doubles well (in fact, this is a half-recipe of the original).

IMG_2435

Plain mayonnaise, before the addition of the garlic and basil – this is how it looks when it’s emulsified

IMG_2437

Ready to enjoy!

Once you’ve made your mayonnaise, hold off on cleaning up the kitchen – use those egg whites to make some fluffy meringues!

Meringue Cookies:

  •  2 egg whites (still at room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/8 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla or other extract flavor
  • pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 275 F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or aluminum foil.  In a glass or metal bowl, whip egg whites until foamy using an electric mixer on medium speed.  Put cream of tartar and salt on top of sugar, and sprinkle in a little at a time while continuing to whip on high speed.  Add in extract flavoring.  When the mixture becomes stiff and shiny like satin, transfer to a large pastry bag and pipe onto prepared baking sheet with a round or star tip (if you rub a little between your thumb and forefinger and it feels gritty, the sugar hasn’t dissolved and it’s not ready yet).  If you don’t have a pastry bag, use 2 tablespoons to make drops.  Place the meringues in the oven and bake for 50-60 minutes or until the meringues are dry, and can be easily removed from the pan.  Allow cookies to cool completely before storing in an airtight container at room temperature.

IMG_2442

See how it’s shiny and forms stiff peaks? That means it’s ready. It may take a while!

I use my fancy icing tool to pipe the meringues – I find it’s easier and wastes less than a piping bag.  But spoons work just as well, too!

IMG_2444

My cleanup crew – I know Monster looks angry, but he was too busy licking to smile for the camera!

It’s hard to be patient for the hour to pass before you can enjoy your delicious meringues!

IMG_2445

I didn’t want to waste even that last little dollop! I could have had more cookies if I’d made them smaller (these are pretty large).

I hope you give this mayo a try, I’m sure you’ll love it as much as our family does!  And the cookies are an added bonus!

2 thoughts on “Garlic Basil Mayonnaise and Meringue Cookies

  1. Pingback: Hollandaise Sauce | Project Mama

Leave a Reply

