Chicken Avocado Enchiladas

This recipe is one of my go-to’s when a friend has a baby… it’s hearty, warming, can be frozen, and reheats really well.  It’s become one of our family favorites!  The only thing I don’t like about making these enchiladas is that they’re a bit work-intensive (and give me lots of dishes to do)… so I always make a double batch!  That way I only have to do all that work once for two meals.  The recipe below is a single recipe, because I know not everyone wants an insane amount of enchiladas like we do 🙂

I like to use my crock pot to make the filling for the enchiladas.  Last night, I threw frozen chicken tenderloins (I find they shred easiest), frozen spinach, and a cup of water into my crock pot at bedtime and let it go all night.  Then, I shredded and drained the mixture this morning and popped it in the fridge till I was ready to assemble.

IMG_2479

If you want, you can add a ladle full of sauce to this mixture if you want sauce inside your enchiladas, too.

I’ve also found an assembly line to be the easiest way to put it all together… it minimizes dishes and hand-washing during the process.  You can see I have my avocados pre-cut into their cubes, my tortillas are staged, and I’ve put the sauce in the bottom of both my pans.  I also like the disposable pans because they only cost about $1 at BJ’s, they come with a lid, and if I give them away, the recipient doesn’t have to worry about returning it.

IMG_2482Ingredients:

Sauce:

  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 tbsp flour
  • 1-2 cans chicken stock (I use a box for a double recipe; you can add more if it’s too thick)
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp pepper
  • ¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 small can medium salsa verde (you can adjust this to your taste – it adds spiciness)
  • ½ cup sour cream

Enchiliadas:

  • 3 cups chopped chicken breasts (about 4 breasts)
  • 4 oz Monterrey Jack Cheese, shredded
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 avocados, peeled and chopped
  • 8 flour tortillas (10 inch works best)
  • 1 pkg frozen chopped spinach (optional, but it’s a great way to sneak in some veggies)

Directions:

In a medium sauce pan, melt butter over medium-high heat. Sauté garlic for 1 minute. Stir in flour, constantly stirring, and cook for 2 minutes. Whisk in the chicken broth, cumin, salt and pepper and bring to a low boil. Once boiling, whisk in the sour cream, salsa verde and cilantro. Remove from heat.

Cook chicken, onions and spinach in a pan until chicken is done (alternative method: cook in crock pot all day, then shred chicken before using).  Add a ladle full of sauce to the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish. Add chicken mixture and 1/6 avocado (1/3 of a half an avocado) to the center of each tortilla and roll, placing seam-side down in the dish. Pour the remaining sauce over the enchiladas. Top with cheese and bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes or until bubbling. Serve immediately.

If you make it all at once (chicken filling is warm, sauce is hot when you pop it in the oven), that 15-20 minute time is accurate.  If you’ve made it ahead and refrigerated it, 30 minutes is probably more accurate.  And if you’re popping a frozen enchilada tray into the oven, it will be closer to 45 minutes to an hour.

IMG_2484

As you can see, a STARVING Radar mouse got in there before I could take my picture… but it still looks delicious (and it was!)

Whether you make this meal for yourself or bring it to a friend, it’s sure to fill bellies and make everyone smile!  Just don’t fight over the leftovers!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Avocado Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

