Fabric Postcard

I make a lot of things myself, but it never occurred to me that I could make a postcard until Patchwork Posse posted a link to her tutorial.  Radar and I have a friend who has RSD and has recently started a new treatment where she has to stay in the hospital for several days at a time.  I’ve been wanting to send her something, but didn’t know what, until I saw these great, 100% customizable postcards!  So my next step was to decide what to put on it.  Cue Pinterest, and the convenient option to stalk someone else’s boards!  I found this adorable heart and pawprint design that she pinned, and knowing how much she loves her pup, Starbuck, I knew I had the perfect inspiration to get started!

Here’s what you’ll need to make your own fabric postcard:

  • Peltex, or other very stiff one-sided fusible interfacing (this stuff is like cardboard)
  • Fabric for the background and appliques
  • Heat N Bond
  • Cardstock
  • Spray adhesive
  • Coordinating and/or contrasting thread

Before you get started, you’ll want to get familiar with the USPS rules for mail.  These are not cheaper to send, like standard postcards, but you can definitely get away with a regular “forever” stamp as long as you stick to a few guidelines:

  • No smaller than 3.5″x5″
  • No larger than 6″x11.5″
  • No thicker than 1/4″
  • Not square (they charge more for square because the machines don’t know which direction is up, so they have to be handled by a person)

I opted for 5″x7″ because it was big enough to make my design pretty, but not so huge it was gaudy.  4″x6″ would work well, too.

First thing you need to do is cut your Peltex to the size you want, iron it onto your background fabric, and trim the excess fabric off.

As I’ve mentioned numerous times, I can’t draw to save my life.  Yes, even a heart is too much for me!  So I jumped onto my best friend, Google images, and searched for the shapes I wanted.  Once I found what I liked, I saved them to my computer, and when I opened them up was able to zoom in or out until I had the size I wanted.  Then I flattened my laptop and carefully traced the image from the screen onto the paper backing of some Heat N Bond.  Note: if your image has a right way and a wrong way, like a letter, you’ll want to flip it backwards using the technique described in my applique post.  Then I ironed the designs to the fabric, cut them out, and ironed them onto my postcard.  Then I used coordinating thread to applique the heart, and contrasting thread for the pawprint.

Once you’ve completed the front of your postcard, turn your attention to the back.  Go outside (for fumes and overspray) and spray a light coating of adhesive onto the back of the postcard and stick it to your cardstock.  Use a ruler and PAPER rotary cutting blade (in my case, it’s just an old fabric one that’s too dull for fabric, but I don’t want to dull my current fabric blade by using it on paper!) to trim the excess cardstock off.

IMG_2703

I keep my old rotary blade in the package from the new one, but it’s labeled for paper!

To finish off your postcard, use a zigzag stitch to stitch around the edges.  Do not use too short a stitch length, or it will perforate your card and it might come off!  Add any details to the back of the card that you wish; I chose to just add a line to separate the writing from the address, but you can add other postcard-like details if you want!  Also, I used a stamp I made with my Silhouette to show that I made it.  I’ll do a tutorial for that another time.

Finished Postcard

Did you know they make Harry Potter forever stamps?? I had to give my friend a special stamp for her special postcard!

It’s a pretty simple item to make, but I’m hoping it will make her day!  Do you have someone special who would like to receive a fabric postcard?  Get sewing and make them smile!

One thought on “Fabric Postcard

  1. Pingback: Binding and Covering a Quiet Book | Project Mama

Leave a Reply

