Christmas (Ornaments) in July

This week we are heading to Arizona to celebrate Christmas in July with my grandparents!  As I mentioned earlier, my grandmother has cancer and hasn’t been doing well, so we want to make sure we get to see her and celebrate, you know, just in case.  My mom, sister, brother-in-law, and niece will be meeting me, Monster, and Peach out in Phoenix.  Of course, the Christmas gifts will be mostly about the kids, but I wanted to give my grandparents a little something, too.  I saw these adorable hand-made ornaments, and fell for them!  They use the same quilt-as-you-go method as I used in the triangle bag, and took less than an hour to put together.  I had some Christmas fabric that was given to me which was perfect!

Supplies:

  • Scraps of fabric, cut in 1.5″ strips (your choice if it has a Christmas theme or not)
  • 12″x12″ backside fabric
  • 12″x12″ batting (fusible optional)
  • Coordinating ribbon
  • Coordinating thread

Line up your 12″x12″ fabric on your batting, right side facing out, and flip it over to start quilting on the batting side.  I started by copying the method in the link above – I cut my 1.5″ strips into 3″ portions and did a strip across the batting in one direction, followed by the rest of the strips in the other direction.  But for my long strips, I didn’t have enough of some of them – mostly the red – so I started piecing them together to add more variety.  You can see my finished “quilt block” below.  Once your quilting is done, print out the Ornament Templates and cut out the shapes; pin them to the block and sew around them.  Then repeat – you should have room on your block to fit each shape twice.  Be sure to leave enough space for cutting between shapes, though!  Then use your handy-dandy pinking shears to trim about 1/4″ outside of the stitching and sew on a loop of ribbon for hanging.

Christmas in July

Left: My quilt block, using quilt-as-you-go plus some pieced together strips. Center: Sew along the template to get each shape. Right: Completed ornaments!

Even if you’re not celebrating Christmas in July, you can work on making some of these ahead of the holidays!  I will definitely be sending a few to Radar in a care package as Christmas approaches.  Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

