Tzatziki

My sister’s husband’s mother (think about that… got it?) makes the world’s best tzatziki with home-made Greek yogurt.  I mean, it’s probably one of the most delicious things I’ve ever tasted in my life, it’s that good!  My brother-in-law and his family are from Albania, so they know good, home-made tzatziki!  He taught my mom, who taught me, how to make our own so that we aren’t always asking them to make it.  We cheat and use store-bought yogurt, but it still turns out pretty tasty.

Ingredients:

  • 24 oz plain Greek yogurt (nonfat or low fat are both fine)
  • 2 tablespoons garlic (about 4 large cloves)
  • 1/2 English cucumber
  • 2 tablespoons fresh dill
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Stir up the yogurt and drop into a mixing bowl.  Finely mince the garlic and add it in.  Peel the cucumber and use a spoon to scoop out the seeds, then dice into cubes about the size of a pinky nail and drop it in the bowl.  Pick the dill off the stems, give it a quick chop, and add it to the mix.  Then add the oil, salt, and pepper.  Stir it up really well, and enjoy your fresh tzatziki!  Store it in the fridge for up to a week, if it lasts that long!

IMG_2756

It should fit right back into the original yogurt container for easy storage

A couple of tips: first of all, I know that English cucumbers aren’t supposed to have seeds, and their skin is edible.  But the seed-like stuff in the middle will make the tzatziki watery as it sits, so it’s best to remove it.  The skin also changes the texture of the finished product, so we prefer to remove it.

IMG_2755

The half on the left has the “seeds” scooped out; I’m about to do the one on the right

Also, if you don’t want to buy fresh dill and chop it, you can get the dill in the squeeze tube as an alternative.  My mom uses that kind, as she has some crazy allergies that push her into anaphylactic shock when she chops dill (she can eat it, just not cut it).  You can find it near the fresh herbs in the grocery store.

As far as how to enjoy it, well, that’s entirely up to you.  One of my favorite ways to eat it is instead of sour cream on a baked potato.  Talk about bumping up the volume on something generally very bland!  My mom makes a lamb roast every time I go home, and it’s great with that, too.  But I have to say my favorite application is instead of ranch dressing for dipping raw veggies in – yum!

IMG_2757

Snow peas and tzatziki make a healthy and delicious snack!

I hope you enjoy this simple, authentic-tasting tzatziki recipe!

One thought on “Tzatziki

  1. Pingback: Greek Salad | Project Mama

Leave a Reply

