Country-Themed Gift

When we started our secret foxes for this deployment, I got a questionnaire filled out by the girl assigned to me so that I could be informed in buying gifts for her.  She describes herself as “country,” saying that Zac Brown Band and Duck Dynasty are among her favorite things.  I found some Duck Dynasty fabric in the remnant bin at Joann’s and bought it with her in mind, but wasn’t sure what to do with it.  After a lot of mulling, I thought it would be nice to make her some tea towels with the fabric!  So this post includes a simple tutorial for personalizing some kitchen towels.

Supplies:

  • Flour sack towels (they come in a 5 pack at Walmart)
  • 1/4 yard accent fabric
  • White and coordinating thread

First, be sure to wash the towels and fabric before you use them – it would be awful to put the time into making nice towels only to have the fabric or towel shrink or get funny the first time you washed it!  I ironed the towels, then ironed them in half to make a towel that was about 14 inches wide and about 25 inches long.  Then I used water-soluble marker to mark every 2 inches along both of the short ends of the towels.  Using white thread, I stitched all the way around each folded towel, then went along the length of the towel, using the 2-inch markers as a guide.  This made for a little thicker towels whose layers won’t separate with use.

Quilting

Left: The water-soluble ink will come out with the first wash. Right: My lines aren’t perfect, but they blend in well so I don’t think they’ll be that noticeable.

Now it’s time to add your embellishment.  Cut your fabric to be about 13.5″x 4″ (you may want to go wider, depending on the look you’re going for) and pin in place about an inch from the edge of your towel.  Then, leave your bobbin white, but change your top thread to a color that matches the fabric, and zigzag stitch the fabric on the towel.  This is really a simple applique, but I didn’t use any Heat N Bond because I didn’t want the stiffness from it.  And that’s all there is to it!  A cute, personalized towel for yourself or a friend!

IMG_2887

See how the stitches don’t show on the back?

Of course, that’s not all I gave to my secret fox for her country gift… I found some Duck Dynasty dolls that talk, a double-walled insulated plastic cup with pink and branch camo, and I gave her some pink flowers in a self-sealing bottle.  I hope she liked it!

20140810_121714

A country-themed gift basket

2 thoughts on “Country-Themed Gift

Leave a Reply

