Hollandaise Sauce

I am addicted to hollandaise sauce.  If I go out to breakfast and the restaurant has eggs Benedict, no omelet or fancy pancakes can compete for my order.  I just can’t resist that hollandaise on poached eggs!  Despite my love for it, I have never had the guts to tackle this delicious sauce… it required a double boiler (read: double dishes in my mind), lots of hand whisking, and is hard to get just right.  But yesterday morning, I had some leftover asparagus staring at me in the fridge, just begging to be cooked with some eggs, and I thought, today I conquer my fear.  Today, I make hollandaise!

I found a recipe online that used just ingredients that I had on hand, and got to work.  Spoiler alert: yesterday was not the day I conquered poaching an egg.  We’ll leave that adventure for another time.

Ingredients:

  • 3 egg yolks (don’t waste the whites – make an omelet or at least some meringues)
  • 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp hot sauce (I used Louisiana Hot Sauce)
  • 1/2 cup butter

Place the egg yolks, dijon mustard, lemon juice, and hot sauce in a food processor or blender (either works, as long as you can add ingredients while it’s running).  Pulse to combine.  Melt the stick of butter in a measuring cup in the microwave for about a minute.  Turn the food processor on and slowly drizzle in the melted butter (just like we did with the olive oil for the basil mayonnaise) to make an emulsion.  Serve as a sauce on eggs, asparagus, or anything you think it would taste good on!

Since I had 3 egg whites already in a bowl, I cracked a 4th egg in and whipped it up to make a mostly-egg-white omelet.  I added some of the leftover asparagus, along with some salt and pepper, and topped it with some of the hollandaise.  I then achieved breakfast nirvana.

IMG_3065

A classic combination: asparagus with hollandaise

If you don’t eat it all in one go (which I don’t recommend – that’s 3 egg yolks!), save the leftovers in small containers.  You can reheat them GENTLY by placing the container in hot water – no microwave here, you’ll just get scrambled eggs.  This morning, I enjoyed some of my leftover hollandaise sauce on a tomato basil omelet.

IMG_3066

Waste not, want not!

It tasted just as good as yesterday, but I didn’t have to do any work!  Now go make yourself some of this irresistible sauce – I know you have all those ingredients handy!

Leave a Reply

