Lemon Chicken

I am currently having a love affair with oregano.  I never realized how much I liked it until I had it in a couple of recipes recently, and WOW!  It just makes everything taste so good!  So when I found this recipe for slow-cooked lemon chicken, I knew I had to try it out because it had oregano.

Now, normally I’m a huge fan of the crock pot.  Especially in the summer – I avoid the oven at all costs because it’s just too darn hot here in Florida!  The first time I made the recipe, I followed the directions to a T… but I actually found the crock pot took away from this recipe rather than adding to it because it dried out the chicken.  Plus, I had to use (and later wash) both a pan AND the crock pot.  Not so great.  So the next time I made it, I tweaked the method and did it all stove-top, and the results were perfection!  So, here’s my version of lemon chicken (with oregano, without crock pot).

Lemon Chicken

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lb package chicken tenderloins
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 tsp chicken bouillon granules
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley

Melt the butter in a large skillet.  Place chicken tenderloins in skillet with butter; sprinkle salt, pepper, and oregano on top.  When brown on one side, flip and brown the other side.  Remove chicken from the pan, and add water, lemon juice, garlic, and bouillon; be sure to scrape up all the yummy brown bits from the chicken!  Add the chicken back in, and add the parsley.  Reduce heat and simmer until chicken is cooked through.  Serve over rice, noodles, or potatoes.

Doesn't that look good?  The sauce is soooo yummy!

Doesn’t that look good? The sauce is soooo yummy!

This dish is an easy, one-pan entre with a sauce that will spice up anything you serve it on.  I’ve even been known to ladle a little of the lemon sauce onto carrots or green beans with my dinner!  I hope you give this recipe a try, I promise you’ll like it!

1 thought on “Lemon Chicken

  1. Pingback: Easy Chicken Marsala | Project Mama

Leave a comment